The Story of the Fairy Shoemaker – or How I Found My Favourite Pair of Shoes

I am the kind of girl that falls in the cliche of shoe addict. I love shoes because they make the best out of one rather unattractive looking part of the body while also defining my style! Although I do love all kinds of shoes, I would say I do have a preference for shoes a bit out of ordinary – quirky design, different make, unusual shapes. And especially in the last years I have been favoring comfortable shoes, as kids and stilettos don’t really mix in my life. But I avoid the typical pair of sneakers and look for compromises between style and comfort.

Well I can say my search is over as I recently discovered Fairy Steps. Handmade shoes with a touch of fairy magic in happy colors – I was smitten at first sight. I asked their maker to have a chat with me and explain how such a wonderful idea has occurred to her. Here is the result. Enjoy her story and her work!

Handmade Leather Shoes with a Touch of Fairy Magic

Handmade Leather Shoes with a Touch of Fairy Magic

Please tell me a bit about yourself, like where you are from and how you started making shoes.

My name is Ren and I live on the edge of a 1000 acre wood in the heart of Devon. I was born and bred here and come from a long line of country folk who have crafted and worked with their hands. Including Tin miners who worked the deep mines up on the Moor. This land and maybe a bit of its mysticism is in my bones I think!

Image

I saw my first shoemaker at a local craft fair at the age of 12. I was smitten! The colours, the shapes, the scent, the fact that this Woman stood in front of me made her living making such beautiful creations. A little seed was sown.

Image

Could you tell me something about the inspiration behind your shoes – how did you come up with the idea of Fairy inspired shapes?

Well, it all happened on Midsummers Eve. Honestly! I had a bit of a light bulb moment, that where on earth could you buy decent, durable fairy style shoes? I had a little online search and found nothing there. There was no Fairy Shoemaker. There is now!

How do you pick colors and designs for your collection?

I design shoes and accessories in my sleep, or just as I am going to sleep!

Image

I read on your website that you made shoes for television and theater. What is the event you are most proud of?

My proudest creations are the ones I make for every single customer I have!

Each and every one is as important as the next to me. I did rather like making fairy shoes for a Welsh children series though! I can imagine how excited they were wearing them!

What is your favourite Fairy Steps creation so far?

Oh, my! How can I choose? I like making all of them!

Image

Do you have a favourite artist or designer? 

I am inspired by the past, but to be honest my favourite designer is Nature herself. I constantly refer to her for shapes and colours!

Image

To find more about Fairy Steps, follow this link: www.fairysteps.co.uk.

Image

Leave a Reply

Eastern European Fashion

Best Style from Eastern Europe

folkloriqueblog.co.uk/

Blog - fashion, illustration, crafts

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Very Berry Handmade

Sharing sewing, crochet and home cooked inspiration!

Artistii

Discover Unique Handmade Arts and Crafts

Life, Love and Handmade Goodness

Visual Diary of Life, Love & All Things Handmade...

theautumnorchard.wordpress.com/

Handmade real flower jewellery and nature inspired accessories

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

